Olympic Advertisements: And The Medals Go To…

The Olympics are over, so it’s time to award medals for the top three Olympic-themed commercials.

Bronze Medal

My choice here will probably surprise you. I’m giving the Bronze medal to Fruit of the Loom for their series of ads. The beauty of these ads is the simplicity—“You move. It moves with you.”

It’s a lovely series highlighting the same type of body control and movement that elite athletes must have. Here are three from that series–Rings, Trampoline and Backflip:

Silver Medal

The silver medal goes to an unusual contestant in this year’s ad Olympics—a movie trailer. This Paranorman video is laugh-out-loud funny! Paired with what I think is audiotape of actual gymnastics announcing, it draws you in immediately.

I have to say, a movie I knew very little about just made me want to see it. If that same humor and creativity runs throughout the movie, it should be a hit.

Gold Medal

And the gold medal goes to AT&T with Ryan Lochte in “Warming Up.”

I’m sure many of you are shocked that I didn’t include any of Proctor & Gamble’s commercials. But, in my eyes, P&G ran the same types of ads in the previous Olympic Games.

AT&T’s ad gave me goose bumps. See for yourself.

“Luck doesn’t get you to the Olympic Games. You can’t wish your way onto the podium. You can’t buy it or hope for it. It’s not enough to dream about it. Luck didn’t get me to London. I swam here.”

One minute long and that’s all that’s said. Every line is true. Every line is important. It’s perfect in words and images. After all, what’s harder than swimming in the ocean?

I only included ads I saw, which aired in the United States. I found another winner made for Adidas in Great Britain. What a way to pump up a nation!

So, that’s it. If you disagree, feel free to mention which ads you would give medals to and why. Maybe you can change my mind.

Leave a Reply

