The straight poop on Luvs Heavy Dooty commercial

Don’t you love how more straightlaced brands are using humor lately to promote their products?

Yes? Great.

No? Maybe I can change your mind.

When I first saw Luvs’ new commercial, I wondered if they were owned by the same company that owns Poise. They’re not (Kimberly-Clark vs. Procter & Gamble), but they both use humor to talk about topics that most people don’t like to discuss. (Need to refresh your memory? Here’s more on the Whoopi Goldberg Poise ads.)

I laughed out loud when I first saw the new Luvs commercial. See what you think:

How do you feel about it?

Most of the moms commenting on the Parenting Magazine blog seem to like it. That gives me hope. Humor can be a great way to approach touchy subjects—especially when it comes to bodily functions. And if Poise can do it, diapers surely can.

I love that they turned “Whomp, there it is” into “Poop there it is.” Not super-creative, but cute, and it works.

Normally, I’m not a fan of the overdone variations of “What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.” But, in this case, I think “What happens in diapers should stay in diapers” works. After all, it’s a selling point. Yes, what happens in diapers should stay in diapers—please!

The only complaint I have is that they use “Heavy Dooty” instead of “Heavy Doody.” I think this might be out of respect for trademark infringement instead of someone afraid they were pushing the poop thing too far. So, “Dooty” will have to do.

Being on the receiving end of a diaper blowout is not fun, but Luvs new ad making light of that surely is. And, if you do think their commercial is disgusting, have I got a commercial that will put that into perspective.

Of course, I thought that was funny too…and gross.

***************

Sorry for the poor quality Luvs video. I contacted the company and Melissa H. assures me they will be releasing the official one soon. I’ll post it once available. Thanks for your patience.

Leave a Reply

