Thankful for the “Social” in Social Media Marketing

Photo of me with sign saying Thank You!Yes, it’s the week of Thanksgiving—a great time to reflect upon all that we are thankful for in life. Just the other day, I was thinking about the wonderful people I met through social media—through Twitter and Meetup.com.

If you’re interested in digital marketing, social media, podcasts, webcasts and even yoga, you’ll like meeting these people too.

Philly Marketing Labs graphicPhilly Marketing Labs—First, I met Skip Shuda and Bechara Jaoudeh (founders of Philly Marketing Labs) at their Main Line Internet & Social Media Marketing Meetup. A few months later, Skip asked me if I was interested in working with them, and a while later, I began working with them on a regular basis. These guys introduced me to the world of entrepreneurship (Bechara also owns BagelSpice), which really rejuvenated my career and opened up all sorts of options for me. They are SEO and digital marketing experts and they regularly share their knowledge with others. To them, I am forever grateful and I look forward to working with them again.

Through Philly Marketing Labs, I learned about and started volunteering with the nonprofit TechGirlz, which helps middle-school-aged girls get interested in and stay interested in tech. See founder Tracey Welson-Rossman’s recent interview for a quick look at the group.

I liked the Main Line Social Media group so much, I found another marketing meetup just starting up in Chester County a little over a year ago. The Chester County Marketing Group was run by Ryan Gerardi and Jeff Tincher, who immediately formed a core group of people (including me) to help keep the meetup group going.

Ryan has unending energy and works at HookLogic to help the automotive industry better use digital media marketing tools. He now lives in Michigan but still stays in touch. He also liked my blog, so we ended up working together as I wrote some posts for his websites: AutoConversion and AutoConverse. You’ll also see him still contributing on the Board of Advisors and as a Technology Coach with the Business Vision Network.

Jeff is a digital marketing know-it-all (in a good way!), who seems to be on top of every new trend and channel that appears in the digital space. The nice part is he is always so willing to share and help others get up to speed as well–see his 610 Digital site. Another cool thing is that you’ll see he always lists “Dad” as one of his key roles.

Carla Wilson is another fantastic person I met through the Chester County Marketing Meetup. She now co-organizes the group with Jeff, in addition to owning Wilson Media Services and being the president of the Delaware Valley Virtual Assistants Association. And she is a yoga teacher who recently put on the first Namas Day in Philadelphia. Check out the podcast/webcast she does with Mary Motz.

Philly Burbs WordPress Meetup logo designed by Liam DempseyI met Liam Dempsey through the Chester County Meetup too. He runs his own marketing and design firm and started the Philly ‘Burbs WordPress Meetup group with me helping. He’s smart, funny and works hard, but always has time to talk to others. Visit his Chicken-Monkey-Dog site and you’ll get a sense of his personality and sense of humor.

I have to mention Christina Strommer too—who, like me, just kind of stumbled upon these groups and keeps coming back. On Twitter, she’s @jamminpsu and describes herself as a “graphic designer/STEM advocate/gadget geek/literary junkie/music enthusiast. And a mom.” She is a friendly, interesting woman who is a NASA fanatic. I love learning from her too.

One of the reasons I decided to write this blog post this week is that these people, with whom I got together to talk marketing and how to further our own businesses while helping other people, have become friends of mine. Friends I really enjoy talking with and hanging out with. I am so thankful for their presence in my life.

Being connected with them has led me to all sorts of other fabulous connections, both meeting people in person and on Twitter. They’re too numerous to mention here, but I am so thankful for their friendship too. And I look forward to getting to know each one of them better in the new year.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Thankful for the “Social” in Social Media Marketing

  1. Great idea for a post Coreen. I may just steel it. I really enjoy your writing, your message, and your modest and laid back style. It’s been great blogging together the past couple of years and I am grateful to know you too. Here’s to the times ahead and shouts out to everybody Coreen mentions here.

    • Steal away, Ryan! And thanks, too. I was just driving home the other day and was thinking how lucky I am to have met such fantastic people through social media and meetups, and considering the time of year, thought it was perfect for a post.

  2. Hi Coreen,

    It’s people like you who demonstrate the real meaning of social in social media. It’s not a numbers game. It’s about making connections with real people.

    Thanks you including me in your list. I consider myself lucky for having met you and being able to call you “friend”.

    • Thanks, Liam. I think you’re very good at doing the same. It seems to come quite easily to you too. One example is how smoothly you went about setting up Philly ‘burbs WP–making sure to talk to the Philly WP guys first. And then that opened up a whole new world for me (and others) too. I would’ve never went to WordCamp if it weren’t for becoming friends with you. So thanks!

  3. Coreen – what a great example of how to show gratitude to your community at this time of giving thanks! I’m honored to make this list – all of the people on this list that I know are a terrific bunch. For my part, I am grateful for the example you have demonstrated in pursuing your passion with brand and social media via InTheCrowds. I hope we get to work together again soon as well!

    • Thanks, Skip. I feel all of the people listed, including you, are so generous with their time and knowledge, it’s nice for me to let other people know it. Kind of a pay it forward and a thank you at the same time. It’s great that I have a chance to share links to all of your sites too, so that anyone can then connect, especially if they need your services.

Leave a Reply

